SST and Cutting - Good Idea?

XFatMan

I've been cutting since I started training with weights and I will continue cutting for quite some time, I'm afraid. However, I'm interested in doing an SST cycle. To be specific, I found this program very interesting. Does SST and cutting work? What are your idea / experience / advice?

First off XFatMan, I love the story you have going on here going from an estimated 40% bodyfat to 20% and beyond. Do you have pictures because that would be a great testament! I hope you stay around here as an active poster at the HST forums!

In regards to SST and cutting, ask yourself this question: what determines me losing weight ~ specifically adipose tissue (fat)? Diet - Calorie Deficit

Second question: What prevents me from losing muscle in this process? Diet - High Protein, Not too much of a caloric deficit AND Training: some type of weight lifting

The type of weight lifting wanted can be almost any training program, but you must have weights heavy enough to cause hypertrophy. A strength based program is suited to build muscles. IMO, it is a-okay to have an SST program while cutting.

I have been cutting for some time, and I have used 5x5 as an SST routine while cutting with good results.

<div>
(colby2152 @ Jan. 17 2008,15:13)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">First off XFatMan, I love the story you have going on here going from an estimated 40% bodyfat to 20% and beyond. Do you have pictures because that would be a great testament! I hope you stay around here as an active poster at the HST forums!

In regards to SST and cutting, ask yourself this question: what determines me losing weight ~ specifically adipose tissue (fat)? Diet - Calorie Deficit

Second question: What prevents me from losing muscle in this process? Diet - High Protein, Not too much of a caloric deficit AND Training: some type of weight lifting