Squats/Cleans

colby2152

I must admit that I am not very good with squats. I haven't done them with too much consistency in the past couple years, and when I did them, I usually used a Smith machine. This past cycle, I tried to go free weight with a barbell and a power rack. My balance is not great and neither is my strength.

I would like to still do squats, but I am looking for a safer solution without using the Smith rack. What do you guys think about Hack Squats?

Also, I think I am going to do Cleans or Clean & Press this upcoming cycle. Any opinions and/or suggestions?

Thanks guys,
Colby

Does your power rack have the safety bars you can use? You can set those in place to make sure you don't get squashed.

I wouldn't worry about the lack of balance or strength. I would just start light, get your form down and then move up from there.

Keystone

For any explosive lift such as cleans, form really falls away after around 5 or 6 reps. Therefore, if you include them, only start them once you get to the 5s.

colby,

if your serious about being bigger (more muscular) and/or stronger then at some point you must squat and deadlift. a small percentage of folks cannot do one or the other b/c of injuries etc. but it doesnt sound like that is a problem for you.

im not saying other exer. are not valid and useful (leg press, free wgt or machine hack) but most who avoid deadl. or squat is b/c they can be painfull to do correctly (hard pain not injury pain) and they are just not good at doing them. problem is they are the 2 staple exer. for muscle and strength gaining. other exer can be used for a while as substitutes but they will always be poor 2nd cousins to squat and deadlift.

as was mentioned before, start light/modest wgt and dont bother trying to progress too quickly. your form and balance will improve over time and the wgts will slowly go up.