Much newbie confusion

ButchCoolidge

Hi all,

I joined the forum a long time ago after stumbling across HST. I tried it with much luck, though I'm not sure I was doing it right.

I started lifting again a few months ago, and after some Rippetoe's SS, have been doing a standard 3 way split. I've been pleased with my catch-up gains, but I'm ready to transition to HST.

So I'm going through my old workout calculator sheets, and some of my numbers are off. I decided to read up on "proper" HST workouts, and the more I read the more I get confused. Some of the things that are getting to me...

Exercise choice: Looking at everyone's workouts, I see much variation in the exercises. One person does the basics (squat/DL/bench) and someone else does 15 different iso exercises.

Number of sets: When I originally read on HST, everything said do one set of each. Since then I've seen people say do 2 sets, and also seen people say do a few warmup sets. Difference between 1 set and "2 warmup 2 work" sets is 400%...

Blocks of reps: Originally understood 2 weeks of 15RM, 2 weeks of 10RM, 2 weeks of 5 RM, Negs, then SD. Got that, but then started reading about changes, going to 8RM, adding in few weeks of different RM counts, etc.

Workout schedule. Originally read that there should be one workout that works whole body and that's done every other day. Later finding people suggesting AM/PM workouts, a/b alternating, and other changes.

There were others, but this is a start... Since I can no longer find anything in common with the variations that I'm seeing, my question is... HOW do you do HST?

Hey Butch,

Seeing that you are coming to this after Ripp's SS I'd go with something like:

Weeks 1&2: 1-2 x 15

Weeks 3&4: 2-3 x 10

Weeks 5&6: 3-4 x 5

Weeks 7&8: 3-4 x 5