Increasing Weights?

cwrigh5

Ive been lifting for some time now, 7 years, and Ive tired various routines and after checking out HST I think its time to try it out.

I just got one question, Whats the deal with the weight?

I mean I understand that before you start the cycle you find your find your 15PR, 10PR, and your 5PR. Then according to what Ive been reading, correct me if Im wrong, for each two week cycle you set your 15PR/10PR/5PR for the last workout of the two week cycle. Then decrease the weight, at a set interval, and assign it to the rest of the workout. I understand the beneficts of increasing your weights every workout but how can you increase in strenght and lift more when you simply dont lift more weight.

help me out please

you have the theory just right. this is my 1st cycle & I've enjoyed it & I believe gained some mass, but I'm not gaining strength. I'm heading into the 5s now & am planning on extending them into an intermediate 5 X 5 ala madcow.

Have you read the HST article? It explains pretty much everything, and after that, check out the FAQ for whatever else you have questions about.

Its really hard to explain the benefits of HST to someone who hasn't tried it yet. You really have to do at least 1 full complete cycle (8 weeks) before it all fits together and makes sense.

Read the FAQ section, its all good stuff, but basically I think your question amounts to "how can I gain when I'm lifting sub-maximal weights?"

That's just old-school mentality, its your perseption of what works rather than what actually works.

So your saying I will not lift anything heavier than my 15PR/10PR/5PR in 8 weeks?

How do I know if Im getting stronger? Or just simply, how do I know if the routine is working?

sorry for the newbie questions.

I found that I was gaining a lot of strength went I went into week 7 and 8.

I don't have a workout partner so I simply continued with the 5's for the final two weeks.