Help required for 40 year old newbie

Nosaj

Hi all,

Have been lurking so will pop in now and say Hi as I am about to establish my maxes for my first cycle and need a critique of my proposed workout.

Although I am 40 I am really a newbie and have not really done much weight lifting wise in the past.

I am just about to come off SL 5x5 (after about 8 weeks) as whilst I have made some good gains I have found that squatting 3x a week and adding 5 pounds each and every workout has been quite brutal add in the warm up sets and the volume is huge. I really need to stop before I injure myself as I keep forgetting I am 40 and not 20 anymore.

I have gone for an A and B alternate and I figure that my Abs will have enough of a workout with the big compounds although I can add in some if this would benefit. I do not have the strength to do pull ups / chins ups yet for 15 reps but will add them in on my negatives and hopefully I can build in on my second cycle.

Other information that may or may not be relevant:
I undertook a strength training programme first as a couple of years ago I had a prolapsed and in Jan this year I fractured my elbow so I wanted to do a little strength training to prepare me for HST
Goals are Hypertrophy and not power lifting/strength training (I am shallow aesthetics are the goal)
Diet is OK but still a work in progress as I need to work on my Macros and ensure that I am getting enough calories as it was apparant when I first started SL I wasn't eating anywhere near enough
My set up is at home power rack with high/low pully, good bench with preacher and leg attachments Olympic and standard barbell as well as dumb bells. No Dip attachment for the rack I can add bench dips in or use the two barbells if dips are a necessity
Will be doing 15s/10s/5s and for the last two fives will be doing negs for the pull ups/chins

My questions are as follows: