First time on a restricted 5 week schedule!!

torelli

HI there,

This is the first time I am posting I just found you guys while looking for something new and I want to give it a try. My only problem is I leave for europe June 8th. I have been lifting for about 5 years and will need to go in and get my rep max's and then do a week of deconditioning. I then can see that I can get 4 weeks of training before I take off to europe where training will be sporadic at best for 5 weeks.

So:
What would you recommend for a layout plan of setting up a short cylce. Can I do only one week of each rep range and then one week at 5 max's and expect good results, or should I just go ahead with a normal plan and just never get to the week of max's at 5's.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
worship.gif

if you have been lifting for 5 years, you probably have a pretty good idea of what your 15, 10 and 5RM's are. so with only such a short space of time, i would just estimate. but you would be better underestimating than overestimating. its the load progression from session to session that counts, not the RM. you definatley dont want to mess up the cycle by going too heavy too early.

you could also skip the 15s if you want

Thanks for the advice. I have been lifting for awhile now without any real break, so I think that at least a 5-7 day deconditioning period is in store. Is that a good bet?

Then I think I will skip 15's and do 2 weeks at 10's and 2 weeks at 5's. That will leave me just enough time to hit 1 extra session of just 5's.

Another question too.
If I have a 10 rep max and then work up to it over a 2 week period that means that most of my workout will not be extremely difficult right? If I have it right I hit 2 or so warm up sets and then pound out the prescribed weight to 10 reps and no more. Or do I go for as many as I can hit at that weight on the last set?

Okay so I am ready to try my first round on HST.

I have one more question though.