Dumbbell Squat?

jay_89

Sometiems in my gym the squat rack is busy, I was wondering If I can incorporate dumbbell squats into my HST routine.

I know it wouldn't be that effective compared to the barbell but it's better than nothing right?

I would say that if your legs have adapted to BB weight, then lighter dombells wouldn't do anything for hypertrophy. If you SD a lot, or have very heavy dumbells, then maybe they would be OK.

Thanks for the reply, it's my first time doing squats, and my gym provides lite to very heavy dumbbells.

Don't bother with dumbell squats, waste of time. Up until about 2 months ago I had no squat rack and so I did dumbell squats...the problem is they feel more like deadlifts and even with very heavy DBs (100s) I didn't have hardly any quad growth since they are more like deadlifts I got some glute and hamstring activation. Now I got my squat rack and my thighs are growing faster than any bodypart right now. WAIT FOR THE SQUAT RACK, IT IS WORTH IT! If you absolutely can't do squats, do leg presses.

<div>
(scientific muscle @ Oct. 06 2006,17:24)</div><div id="QUOTEHEAD">QUOTE</div><div id="QUOTE">Don't bother with dumbell squats, waste of time. Up until about 2 months ago I had no squat rack and so I did dumbell squats...the problem is they feel more like deadlifts and even with very heavy DBs (100s) I didn't have hardly any quad growth since they are more like deadlifts I got some glute and hamstring activation. Now I got my squat rack and my thighs are growing faster than any bodypart right now. WAIT FOR THE SQUAT RACK, IT IS WORTH IT! If you absolutely can't do squats, do leg presses.</div>
Thanks, I guess i'll use the leg press as second option.

yes legg-press if you cant get on the squat rack.
use that as an alternate in your routine so when you go in if the rack is available use it when its not do leg presses.