Setting goals

• Thread starter imported_deolmstead
  • Start date
I

imported_deolmstead

I was thinking yesterday about goals - ie, that I didn't have specific ones. I had a generic "gain muscle, try to minimize fat gain" goal, but that's just not something that you can grab a hold of.

When I was losing weight, it was pretty easy as there was only one metric: pounds. I said "190 pounds is my goal," and it was until I got there, and then it was 180. And so on. I see nothing wrong with moving the goalposts once you reach them, but I think it's helpful to have them.

Never having done a lifting routine before, I have little experience in setting goals here and don't really know what's realistic in the short-term, long-term, etc.

So, pretty much totally arbitrarily, I set a goal for myself of 200 lbs, 10% BF. Nice, round numbers. I'm currently at 178lbs, 15%. So a little bit of math tells me I need to gain 28lbs of muscle and lose 6 lbs of fat to get to this goal. 28lbs of muscle seems like an awful lot to me, especially after reading around here, so this strikes me as definitely long-term (ie, a year or more). At least I have my newbieness going for me.

Do you guys set specific goals for yourself? What metric do you use - inches, bf, strength? I'm curious.

As far as weight training goes, I'm constantly setting goals, both short term and long term. These days my only goals are strength related, and that will change if I continue to get so many injuries.  

I find it advantageous to break long term goals down into increments so you don't try to do everything at once.  For instance, if you want to be 200lbs@10%, then set a year long goal or maybe as long as 18 months if you need it, to gain as much muscle as possible without going over x% bodyfat, then maybe a 3 mo, 6 mo., or whatever is needed to slowly cut the fat off.