Hi all!

MO75

Hi all! I'm a newbie to HST, and although I have looked into it a bit, I do have some questions... I have been training properly for the last 9 months or so, and I have made some really good gains. The thing is, I'd like to make the maximum gains possible rather than just OK gains, if you see what I mean. And also, I'm currently training at the gym three times per week so that also fits my situation perfectly. So anyway, HST looks pretty good for my purposes. So I have looked into the reams of information, and have come up with the following program to get me started:

Legs: Squats
Chest: Bench press, dips
Back: Bent over row
Shoulders: Shoulder press
Biceps: Barbell curl
Traps: Shrugs
Triceps: Tricep pushdowns
Abs: Situps

From what I can tell, I now have to get my 15 rep maximum. For bench press, for example, I can tell you now this will be 25 kilograms on the bar. Then what do I do for my 10 rep max? Just add say five kilograms? Then the same for my 5 rep max? That would work out about right, anyway, 35 kilograms at 5 reps... But what I'm getting at is, is accuracy all-important, or is it more important to just be increasing the load at each workout?

Now, what do I do on week two of the program? The same as week one? But then on week three I go to the 10 rm? And then again on week five I go to the 5 rm, and so on?

Thanks!

Hi MO75 and welcome,

First find your 15Rep Max, 10RM and 5RM for each exercise.
HST is a "2 week program" were at the end of each 2nd week you are lifting your Rep Max.

Here's an example of your BB bench:

(using your 25k + 21k bar= 46k)

--15's --
-----week 1-----|---week 2-----|
35.5, 37.5,39.5 | 41.5, 44, 46

Assume your 10 RM is (30k+21k bar= 51k)

--10's --
-----week 1-----|---week 2-----|
39.5, 41.5, 44 | 46, 48.5, 51

Assume you 5 RM is (35k+21k bar= 56k)

--5's--
---- week 1---|--week 2-----|
43.5, 45.5, 48 | 50.5, 53, 56

Hope this helps and let us know if you have more questions
Mikeh