The HST worksheet

steve_nw

Ok, so I'm new to this HST stuff.
Some background: have started back at the gym after 6-months off, before that, no gym work at all.
sad.gif
And I'm someone who is - ahem - in the mature range of life.
Friend and I are gym buddies, and we both hooked into this HST. We *think* we did the set-up right with getting our 15RM all set, but now we have some questions:
How fast (how much time total) should we take in doing these exercises?
The worksheet (XLS) that Bryan offers - are these ALL the exercises we should be doing, or are they just a suggestion? Are there some others we should be doing?
What does it mean by negatives? I'm just not clear on that at all.
What do I do with the HST supplements?
Any help/advice is gratefully received.

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]steve_nw, Posted on May 19 2003,8:42
We *think* we did the set-up right with getting our 15RM all set

Hi Steve and welcome to the forum.
Ok, did you also test your 10 and 5 max or are you just going to lift straight linear??

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]How fast (how much time total) should we take in doing these exercises?
Anywhere from 30 - 55 min average

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]The worksheet (XLS) that Bryan offers - are these ALL the exercises we should be doing, or are they just a suggestion?
Yes, these are just suggestions although a good selection to start your first cycle.

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]Are there some others we should be doing?
See how you do the first cycle then sure add / delete / swap.

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]What does it mean by negatives? I'm just not clear on that at all.
Start your negative week with a weight you can lift for 2 - 3 reps.
Your spotter will help you lift the next rep (concentric) then you
slowly let the weight back down 2 - 4 seconds (eccentric). Continue lifting
until the weight just falls (you have hit failure) and you're done.

FAQ negatives

[b said:
Quote[/b] ]What do I do with the HST supplements?