Is training 2 days in a row ok?

• Thread starter imported_gtimmons
  • Start date
I

imported_gtimmons

Hello, I'm new to HST. I have a very unpredictable and hectic work schedule. I would like to maintain a Mon, Wed, Fri training schedule, but may have to work out on conescutive days occasionally.
For example Mon, Tues, and Fri. Is this ok ? I'm a little leary on training the same muscle two days in a row. Please advise.

When you load a muscle with weights, it produces a signal which causes that muscle to grow. But this growth occurs over the first 32-48hrs only. the monday, wednesday, friday approach works well because you load the muscle again as soon as it stops growing. Thereby creating a situation where the muscle is pretty much always growing during the week and have the weekend off.
In terms of producing a growth signal, training Mon, Tue, Friday will probably do the same job.

In terms of CNS recovery issues, it really depends on how intense your workouts are. If you go too near failure on the monday, your tuesday workout will suffer a bit. That also depends on your training volume.

For the past 4 weeks (15s, 10s and now into my 1st week of 5s) i have been training 6x per week as an experiment. I alternate two very abbreviated routines. I avoid failure like the plague, and i only do 1 set. So far everything is going very well.

So i personally dont think that training Mon, Tue, Friday (using your example) will necessarily be a problem. Although it really depends on the workout intensity/volume.

Thanks Stevie, that advice makes a lot of sense. :) I will go forward then.

Ok Stevie,
Now you've got to tell us what those two abreviated routines are! Please?

Yeah, Stevie. I'm curious as well. I've been thinking about doing something familiar, but only 5 days a week. I believe Micmic is currently doing a program like this.

ok here it is:

Mon, Wed, Fri:
weighted Dip
weighted Chin
Standing DBCalf

Tue, Thur, Sat:
BB Inc press
1 arm DB row
BB curl
Seated calf