HIIT total newbye

boggy

I decided to give HIIT a go this cycle but I never did it before and honestly I dont really know how to implement it.

I suppose I would just need some general guidance and practical advice...mmm actually I would need to know what I gotta do... ;)

I heard about sprinting for a few seconds (how do you count seconds while sprinting?)and then walking for a few minutes but I dont know nothing more,anyway I suppose I cant do it at the gym.

Sprinting outdoors would be your best bet, but you can also do it in a stationary bike especially in one of those used in spinning classes, the regular ones at the cardio section in gyms are not as suited to that.

I'd advise you to start with longer sprints like 15 20 seconds and not with 10s maximal sprints like I always do. I end up walking around like if I was crippled for up to 4 or 5 days after my first session.

Rest periods should also start relatively long, like around 1 minute and decrease them in further sessions if you can.

Shorter sprints and rest periods are supposed to be more effective in stimulating fat loss.

To count seconds you should ideially use a watch with an alarm timed to beep after the desired time, but I just use my analogic watch with no problems, you'll probably soon get to be able to tell the time instinctively.

If you have access to a track, then you can easily determine the distance you can cover in 20 seconds, then just repeat that distance for two weeks. Then time yourself again and adjust accordingly to your improvements. If you do not have access to a track, then maybe find a long field and use landmarks (using a stationary bike is definitely more practical - but the workload cant compare to an all out sprint) Many HIIT programs split cardio into 2 sessions per day, for 2-3 days per week. Hope this helps you out :)

There are also some treadmills which have an 'intervals' program, where you can usually adjust the maximum speed and the duration of the bout.

[b said: