Help Needed with Training Method

I

imported_delphi23

I have been lifting for about 6 years. However, I have not followed any specific method and after reading many of the posts on this forum, I realize I had no clue as to what I was doing. I am about 50 lbs overweight and want a program where I can burn as much fat as quickly as possible. I really want to start HST but am uncertain what type of program would be best. While I am overweight, I am not completely out of shape.

I was thinking of a 2x split (upper M,W,F lower Tu,Thr,Sat) 6 days a week with cardio done after every workout. I can only get to the gym once per day so morning cardio is out. I think I read somewhere on this site that working out every day is better for fat burning, am I right?

Is steady state cardio more advisable? ie 20-40 minutes of, say, excercise bike at one speed. Or is it better to do some version of HIIT? Or is it better to alternate between the two?

For my diet, I am eating a diet similar to the Zone (40-30-30); with 5 to 6 meals per day at between 300 - 500 calories below maintenance. Does calorie cycling work? ie eating, say, 5 days below maintenance and then two days 300-500 above (healthy food)?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I realize that great gains can only come as a result of discipline and effort and I am eager to essentially change my lifestyle. But by reading the information on this site I have been bombarded with a ton of information that has left me sort of like a deer in the headlights; paralysis through analysis. I would really like something basic but effective and simple enough for a beginer to grasp.

Thanks

If you are going to work out six times per week, you may want to keep your calories a little closer to maintenance, say around 250. That's just what I would do, maybe you have a harder time burning fat, I don't know.
edit: I mean 250 under maintenance, not 250 total per day. Sorry for the bad wording.