first hst programme for the new year

jmm

I've been using the weights at the gym twice a week for about 6 months now; I'm 5'11 and 74kg. I'd like to gain a bit more muscle, and hst looks like it could be an efficient way to do that - so it would be great if you could help me pick a programme...

Haven't used hst before, so apologies for the daft questions. I figured I'd pick the exercises now, then work out what reps to do when (I gather I should go to the gym to do a hst programme every other day) and probably calculate the weights to use in the new year (after a nice week off
smile.gif
). Let me know if this sounds reasonable/makes sense...

taking from the sample hst workout on the site, I've picked out exercises I do know how to do:
- squat/leg press (alternate between the two).
- calf raise
- incline bench press and dips (alternate between the two).
- bicep curl
- shrugs
- tricep pulldown
- crunch with weight

I know I'm missing a few exercises. Basically, my coordination and balance suck - so bent over row and leg curl I can't do with decent form. Would chins be an alternative to bent over row, or do I need another exercise too? And any suggestions as an alt to leg curl (lunges, maybe?) And is there anything else I need to add in?

Final daft question: I've also been doing back raises along with crunches; worth keeping doing those?

TIA.

Stiff legged dead lifts to replace leg curls.

And alternate pull-ups (or pulldowns) and low cable row for back.

Welcome jmm.

If you do your calves early in your workout you will have more problems with your balance. Do them after any exercise where your balance is important. Last would be good.  
wink.gif

You need some sort of shoulder press to hit your delts. Standing barbell presses are a good choice. During post-5s you can switch to push presses and really load up the bar. You'll need to work on your balance though.