Any HST routine for an athlete?

Fun_Aka

Hi everyone! i'm planning to start the HST program but i read that it is not recommended for athletes.. is there a HST routine(tweak/modified) you could recommend for me as a basketball player who is an absolute beginner in bodybuilding? what exercises to avoid and etc?
i only want to develop my muscles. ;)
thanks

I remember that T-Mag had some articles/discussion on increasing one's verticle jump.

Where did you hear the HST is not good for athletes?

"I have now used these principles myself, and have used them successfully to train competitive bodybuilders for some time. It is not "specifically" designed for competitive track athletes, Powerlifters or Olympic lifters" quote from the HST article.
oh well.. i'll just follow the HST program :) i'm really excited but i haven't yet read a post where a newbie like me gained muscle after 2 cycles of HST. I would like to here someone. ;)

HST would be fine for an athlete. I realize one of the reasons it may not be "specifically" designed for powerlifters, etc would be because they want to take advantage of strength gains, or speed over size. They might train a certain way to cater to their goals as an athlete. HST is pretty versatile, and if you would like to gain some muscle it's a good way to do it regarless of what sport you play. Just my 2 cents. Good Luck!

thanks for the reply guys! ;) you helped me alot.. i'll start to mesure my RMs next week then SD. :) I'm really excited!
btw, i only have a bench, barbell and dumbbells.. so i can't do dips and pullups since i dont go to the gym. i'll workout here at home ... would this be a good routine?
Legs : Squat and Leg Curls
Chest : Incline barbell press and DB flyes
Shoulders : DB Military Press and Lateral Raise
Back : Deadlift and Bent over row
Biceps : Barbell curl
Triceps : DB skullcrushers
Abs : just crunches(twice a week)
so what do you guys think?
blush.gif